My Blog

#9

Posted on: May 8, 2009

“Yeah, with all of these men linein’ up to get neutered

 it’s hip now to be feminized.

But I don’t highlight my hair, I’ve still got a pair.

Yeah, honey I’m still a guy.

Oh my eyebrows ain’t plucked there’s a gun in my truck.

Oh thank god, I’m still a guy.

 

                These lyrics come from Brad Paisley’s song “I’m still a guy.” Throughout the song Paisley sings about how even though he may try different things for his lover, in the end he’s still a guy. He depicts all the male-stereotypical activities he does. For example, be carries a gun in his truck and he does not highlight his hair. He even talks about his private area, noting that he has a pair, showing his masculinity and independence.

                Typical male language is that of one where males show their independence and is activity oriented. In the song Paisley describes the many manly activities he involves himself in and proves his independence. Paisley seems to enjoy the fact that he’s in control of his life and no one can change him or make him do things he does not wish to do.

Gamble, T. K., Gamble, M. W. (2003). The gender communication connection. New York: Houghton Mifflin Company.     

Paisley, B. (2008). I’m still a guy. 5th Gear [CD]. Nashville: Artista Nashville.

Leave a Reply

